Imprensa "Erasmus for Young Entrepreneurs" presented in Strasbourg by Maria da Graça Carvalho MEP (Newsletter EPP Group)

Notícias | 07-07-2010

Maria da Graça Carvalho MEP and Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the European Commission responsible for Industry and Entrepreneurship, will present the Programme 'Erasmus - Young Entrepreneurs' at a press conference today in the European Parliament in Strasbourg (LOW N-1/201) at 14.00 hrs

This programme already existed as a Preparatory Action of the European Commission, in which 2,200 European entrepreneurs have participated until now, 99 being of Portuguese nationality. €2m has been set aside for 2011 for 1200 young entrepreneurs. Maria da Graça Carvalho presented a proposal aimed at increasing the budget to €3m for the same year.

After the success of this action and various initiatives presented by the Portuguese PSD Delegation Members, it will be announced that this Preparatory Action will become a permanent European Union programme, starting at the beginning of 2012, with an increase of the budget (to €7m for 2012 and €8m for 2013).

The Youth Policy (education, training, transition from school to the job market) has been a priority for the PSD Delegation in the European Parliament. This priority has been reflected in different actions.

The Portuguese MEPs, Members of the Committee on Budgets, have proposed a number of amendments which were accepted by the EPP Group, the Commission, and the European Parliament in plenary, aimed at increasing the financing of educational and training programmes, mobility of young people and the creation of a new programme to support their first jobs.

For further information:
Maria Da Graça CARVALHO MEP, Tel: +32-2-2875776
Sandra Carreira, EPP Group Press & Communications Service, Tel: +33-3-88172118

Maria da Graça Carvalho's Website

Notes to Editors:

The EPP Group is by far the largest political group in the European Parliament with 265 Members.

Maria da Graça Carvalho MEP is a Member of the European Parliament in the EPP Group, Member of the ITRE Committee, substitute member of the Budgets Committee and member of the ACP-UE Joint Parliamentary Assembly. She was elected Co-President of the Economic Development, Finance and Trade Committee of ACP-UE Joint Parliamentary Assembly


Atenção, o seu browser está desactualizado.
Para ter uma boa experiência de navegação recomendamos que utilize uma versão actualizada do Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera ou Internet Explorer.