Work in Parliament Maria da Graça Carvalho in the presidency of the first Industry Intergroup in the Parliament

Committees ITRE | 13-02-2020

Maria da Graça Carvalho was appointed president of the Industry Intergroup in the European Parliament, launched Thursday in Strasbourg.

"By establishing this intergroup, the European Parliament recognizes the great importance of European industry and also assures stakeholders that their voice will be heard during the changes that will be implemented to fulfil our European Green Deal agenda", said Maria da Graça Carvalho, after the constitutive ceremony. "This intergroup will be crucial to help the industry to be competitive and maintain its leadership and strategic autonomy, while carrying out the ecological and digital transformation".

The constitutive meeting of the Parliamentary Intergroup “Sustainable Long-Term Investments and Competitive European Industry” took place this morning in Strasbourg. Helping European industry to remain competitive, while making the ecological transition to a carbon neutral Union, is the main objective of this new intergroup.

The coordination team, elected Thursday, is composed by three co-chairs: Simona Bonafè (S&D), Maria da Graça Carvalho (PPE) and Dominique Riquet (Renew).

The new Intergroup aims to promote an overview of the multifaceted dimension of sustainable and long-term investments and a comprehensive EU industrial policy, throughout the 2019-2024 legislature, in the context of the Green Deal.

Financial associations and institutions will work together with partners in the industrial field and in the context of civil society organizations. A promising programme of themed public events will be unveiled in the coming weeks.

More than 100 MEPs are already active in this new project and a call for external partners will be launched soon, in order to formalize the dozens of new requests already received and further expand this initiative.

Please note, your browser is out of date.
For a good browsing experience we recommend using the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.