Work in Parliament All-Atlantic Ocean Research Forum, Brussels

Meetings | 06-02-2020

Maria da Graça Carvalho was one of the speakers at the high-level All-Atlantic Ocean Research Forum that took place in Brussels. The event was attended by the European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, Mariya Gabriel, and several representatives of international organizations and governments, such as the state secretary in the Ministry of Science of Brazil, Marcelo Moraes.

This event was an opportunity to discuss strategies for cooperation between the Atlantic countries when it comes to several research fronts related to the sea, and Maria da Graça began by emphasizing the special significance of this topic for her.

Firstly, Maria da Graça referred to the fact that, in 2012 and as rapporteur for the Specific Programme implementing Horizon 2020, she was able to have “a new dedicated, separate and visible activity, entitled: Cross Cutting Marine and Maritime Research. In 2013, she had the opportunity to hold a meeting in the European Parliament where she challenged the European Commission to establish an Atlantic alliance dedicated to research including “the United States, Canada and the European Union, but also the South Atlantic”.

Maria da Graça Carvalho confirmed her commitment as Member of the European Parliament to continue supporting initiatives related to research in the maritime area and other water resources. In this regard, she recalled that she is currently preparing a report on the Strategic Agenda for the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT). In this context, she will propose the establishment of a Community of Innovation and Knowledge (KIC) dedicated to water. "The goal is to unleash the potential of inland waters - rivers, lakes - and the seas and oceans for different industries, while protecting the environment and adapting to climate change," she explained.

Please note, your browser is out of date.
For a good browsing experience we recommend using the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.