Brussels 14 October 2020



Dear President Sassoli,

As you are aware, the situation in Belarus has not died down, instead protestors continue to take the streets to voice their disdain and unhappiness. Protestors and Journalists who continue to make their disdain known and heard, are arrested as well as tortured for opposing the Lukashenko regime. Various organizations, parliamentarians as well as the laity have joined Belarusians in their fight for justice, rule of law and democracy.

## For too long, an autocratic regime has denied the people of Belarus of its voice which is why we must use our voices to amplify their voices.

And this fight will not end until their demand for democratic change is met.

Despite the unanimous outcry and opposition to the results naming incumbent Lukashenko as President of Belarus, there has been no real change. In fact, Lukashenko has been sworn in as President in a secret ceremony, completely ignoring the demands of Belarusians as well as those across the EU who stand behind them.

Considering this, we see it as imperative to invite Svetlana Tsikhanouskaya, the leader of the Belarusian opposition, <u>to address the Parliament in the next plenary session</u>. It is undeniable that Belarusian issues are European issues, and because of this, it is crucial that their voice is heard at the highest European level.

Yours Sincerely,

## The MEPs

- 1. Lídia Pereira
- 2. Eva Maydell
- 3. Paulo Rangel
- 4. Sigfried Muresan
- 5. Roberta Metsola
- 6. François-Xavier Bellamy
- 7. Karlo Ressler
- 8. Christophe Hansen
- 9. Tomáš Zdechovský
- 10. Isabel Benjumea
- 11. Sven Simon
- 12. Lukas Mandl
- 13. Maria Walsh
- 14. Magdalena Adamowicz
- 15. Adam Bielan



- 16. Alexandr Vondra
- 17. Andżelika Możdżanowska
- 18. Assita Kanko
- 19. Beata Kempa
- 20. Beata Mazurek
- 21. Dace Melbarde
- 22. Eugen Jurzyca
- 23. Geert Bourgeois
- 24. Jacek Saryusz-Wolski
- 25. Jadwiga Wiśniewska
- 26. Patryk Jaki
- 27. Roberts Zile
- 28. Ryszardantoni Legutko
- 29. Álvaro Amaro
- 30. Andreas Schwab
- 31. Andrius Kubilius
- 32. Andrzej Halicki
- 33. Antonio López-Istúriz White
- 34. Ausra Maldeikiene
- 35. Christian Doleschal
- 36. Christoforou Lefteris
- 37. Claudia Monteiro de Aguiar
- 38. Danuta Huebner
- 39. Krzysztof Hetman
- 40. Elżbieta Łukacijewska
- 41. Frances Fitzgerald
- 42. Isabel Wiseler
- 43. Ivan Stefanec
- 44. Radosław Sikorski
- 45. Jan Olbrycht
- 46. José Manuel Fernandes
- 47. Liudas Mazylis
- 48. Loránt Vincze
- 49. Ludek Niedermayer
- 50. Maria Graça Carvalho
- 51. Michaela Šojdrová
- 52. Michal Wiezik
- 53. Mircea-Gheorghe Hava
- 54. Miriam Lexmann
- 55. Peter Pollak
- 56. Petri Sarvamaa
- 57. Radan Kanev
- 58. Rasa Juknevičienė
- 59. Romana Tomc
- 60. Róża Gräfin von Thun und Hohenstein



- 61. Stelios Kympouropoulos
- 62. Tomas Tobe
- 63. Tomasz Frankowski
- 64. Tomislav Sokol
- 65. Vlado Bilčík
- 66. Margrete AUKEN
- 67. Tineke Strik
- 68. Nikolaj Villumsen
- 69. Athanasios Konstantinou
- 70. Dorien Rookmaker
- 71. Clotilde Armand
- 72. Dragos Pislaru
- 73. Ondrej Kovarik
- 74. Michal Šimecka
- 75. Stéphanie Yon-Courtin
- 76. Ulrike Müller
- 77. Urmas Paet
- 78. Attila Ara-Kovács
- 79. Giuseppe Ferrandino
- 80. Juozas Olekas
- 81. Nils Usakovs
- 82. Robert Biedron
- 83. Tudor Ciuhodaru
- 84. Barry Andrews
- 85. Arba Kokalari