

## VALDIS DOMBROVSKIS EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION

## THIERRY BRETON MEMBER OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION

Brussels, 8 xtober 2020 EM/al Ares (2020) s 4485676

Dear Honourable Members,

Thank you for your letter of 24 June in which you present your vision for Europe's raw materials policy. We welcome your initiative and the broad political support for strengthened action on raw materials.

President von der Leyen insisted in her presentation of Next Generation EU on the need to increase the resilience and open strategic autonomy of the EU, notably by promoting investment in key value chains that are crucial for our future resilience. In line with the new industrial strategy, the Commission adopted, on 3 September 2020, an action plan on critical raw materials. One of the actions is to create a European Raw Materials Alliance, involving all relevant stakeholders. In addition, the Commission services have published a report looking at critical raw material needs for strategic sectors - such as renewable energy, e-mobility, digitalisation, aerospace and defence – that will be required in 2030 and 2050.

The funds allocated to strengthen the EU economy need to be commensurate to the challenges we face. The InvestEU Programme identifies funding for primary and secondary raw materials in the sustainable infrastructure policy window. In addition, Horizon Europe will fund innovation to strengthen market intelligence and development throughout the life cycle of raw materials, i.e. production, recycling and substitution solutions.

Non-budgetary policies will also accompany these measures to reinforce the EU open strategic autonomy while also defending our values. The promotion of the highest social and environmental standards is an essential part of the EU approach. We will promote these values not only domestically but also in third countries. The Commission is actively engaging in international discussions to ensure that raw materials extraction and processing beyond our borders takes place under ethical, environmentally sound and socially just conditions.

Circular economy will help reduce the demand in raw materials supply, notably because the recycling rates for critical raw materials are low. Research actions and regulatory requirements will help boost their recycling.

1

Tracie policy will make an important contribution to the establishment of a level playing field and the elimination of market access barriers in order to ensure an open, undistorted and rulesbased international trade in raw materials. This will be essential to facilitate the diversification of the sources of supply of raw materials. The Commission has recently appointed a Chief Trade Enforcement Officer who will work very closely with the relevant Commission services, as well as with the European Parliament, Member States and stakeholders to ensure respect for international rules and commitments, and to tackle unfair trade practices of third countries.

We look forward to working closely with the European Parliament on this important matter.

Yours sincerely,

Valdis Dombrovskis

Thierry Breton

Anna-Michelle Asimakopoulou (EPP, EL) Eva Maydell (EPP, BG) Christophe Hansen (EPP, LU) Pietro Fiocchi (ECR, IT) Massimiliano Salini (EPP, IT) Vlad Botoş (RE, RO) Maria da Graça Carvalho (EPP, PT) Maria Spyraki (EPP, EL) Vilija Blinkevičiūtė (S&D, LT) Elissavet Vozemberg-Vrionidi (EPP, EL) Theodoras Zagorakis (EPP, EL) Marie-Pierre Vedrenne (RE, FR) Nicolae STEFANUTA (RE, RO) Geert Bourgeois (ECR, BE) Emmanouil Fragkos (ECR, EL) Mircea Hava (EPP, RO) Stellios Kympouropoulos (EPP, EL) Susana Solis Pères (RE, ES) Marian Jean Marinescu (EPP, RO) Inma Rodrígpez-Piñero (S&D, ES) Dominique Riquet (RE, FR) Iuliu Winkler (EPP, RO)

Jonás Alvarez Fernández (S&D, ES) Manuel Bompard (GUE/NGL, FR) Angelika Winzig (EPP, AT) Mónica Silvana González (S&D, ES) Frederique Ries (RE, BE) Arnaud Danjean (EPP, FR) Miapetra Kumpula-Natri (S&D, FI) Lukas Mandl (EPP, AT) Lefteris Christoforou (EPP, CY) Elzbieta Lukacijewska (EPP, PL) Romana Jerković (S&D, CR) Marlene Mortler (EPP, DE) Marek Pawel Balt (S&D, PL) Anna Zalewska (ECR, PL) Claudia Gamon (RE, AT) Radan Kanev (EPP, BG) Izaskun Bilbao Barandica (RE, ES) Antonio López-Istúriz White (EPP, ES) Vangelis Meimarakis (EPP, EL) Eva Kaili (S&D, EL) Danuta Maria Hübner (EPP, PL) Reinhard Hans Bütikofer (Green/EFA, DE) Jerzy Buzek (EPP, PL) Liudas Mazylis (EPP, LT) Andrey Slabakov (ECR, BG) Georgios Kyrtsos (EPP, EL) Othmar Karas (EPP, AT) Tom Berendsen (EPP, NL) Loucas Fourlas (EPP, CY) Adam Jarubas (EPP, PL) Nicola Danti (RE, IT) Christophe Grudler (RE, FR) Zdzisław Krasnodębski, (ECR, PL) Anne Sanders (EPP, FR) Nikos Androulakis (S&D, EL) Nils Torvalds (RE, FI) Barbara Thaler (EPP, AT) Nicolae Stefanuta (RE, RO) Jordi Cañas (RE, ES) Manolis Kefalogiannis (EPP, EL) Grzegorz Tobiszowski (ECR, PL) Bart Groothuis (RE, NL)