

THIERRY BRETON MEMBER OF THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION INTERNAL MARKET Rue de la Loi, 200 B-1049 Brussels Tel. +32-2 299 02 00 thierry.breton@ec.europa.eu

Brussels,

0 4. 09. 2020

CA.16/TB

Ms Ester DE LANGE Vice President of the EPP group in the European Parliament Group of the European People's Party (Christian Democrats) Bât. ALTIERO SPINELLI 08E201 60, rue Wiertz B-1047 Brussels esther.delange@europarl.europa.eu

Dear Ms de Lange,

Thank you for your letter dated 22 July 2020 in which you draw my attention to the supply disruption faced by shipyards using certain so-called transition engines (IWP and IWA subcategories) subject to the deadline of 30 June 2021 set by the Non-Road Mobile Machinery Regulation ((EU) 2016/1628).

I would like first to thank you for your active support that allowed for the swift adoption of the Commission proposal extending by one year the deadline of 30 June 2020 for other categories of transition engines<sup>1</sup>.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> OJ L231 of 17.07.2020, p.1.

Commission européenne/Europese Commissie, 1049 Bruxelles/Brussel, BELGIQUE/BELGIË - Tel. +32 22991111 Office: BERL 10/222 - Tel. direct line +32 229-90200

Thierry.BRETON@ec.europa.eu

Such action was warranted by the sudden impact of the outbreak and its clear causal link with the inability of economic operators to meet the imminent deadline of 30 June 2020. Regarding the specific case to which you draw my attention, the deadline at stake is 30 June 2021. It is therefore too early to establish with certainty such a causal link.

The Commission acted on its own initiative regarding the 30 June 2020 deadline. It will of course be very attentive to other similar issues in other domains, and may act accordingly.

I would like to reassure you that I have instructed my services to continue to monitor closely the evolution of the COVID-19 outbreak, its impacts on the supply chains as well as on the ability of economic operators to cope with the upcoming deadline of 30 June 2021 referred to in your letter.

Yours sincerely,

Thierry Breton

c.c.:

Tom BERENDSEN, MEP (EPP) Maria CARVALHO, MEP (EPP) Jens GIESEKE, MEP (EPP) Norbert LINS, MEP (EPP) Marian-Jean MARINESCU, MEP (EPP) Annie SCHREIJER-PIERIK, MEP (EPP) Sven SCHULZE, MEP (EPP) Tomislav SOKOL, MEP (EPP) Mohammed CHAHIM, MEP (S&D) Vera TAX, MEP (S&D) Vera TAX, MEP (S&D) Andreas GLÜCK, MEP (Renew Europe) Caroline NAGTEGAAL, MEP (Renew Europe) Jan-Christoph OETJEN, MEP (Renew Europe) Gerolf ANNEMANS, MEP (ID) Johan VAN OVERTVELDT, MEP (ECR)