

Thierry BRETON Commissioner for Internal Market European Commission

Brussels, 22 July 2020

Dear Commissioner Breton,

On 2 June, the European Commission published a proposal amending Regulation (EU) 2016/1628 on Non Road Mobile Machinery (NRMM) as regards its transitional provisions in order to address the impact of COVID-19 crisis. Given the structural challenge for certain manufactures to shift towards Stage V emission limits, we warmly welcome this Regulation to provide some lead time for making this transition. As we did not wish to delay the urgent procedure under Rule 163 on the 2020/0113 (COD) proposal, we would like to urgently request your attention for the issue described below by means of this letter.

The COVID-19 outbreak has caused complete interruptions in the supply of parts and components, leaving manufacturers with stocks of engines, unfinished products and causing the risk of not meeting deadlines set by the NRMM Regulation. In particular, at least 80 hulls for new build ships and over 200 engines from outside Europe will not arrive in EU Member States on the contractually agreed date. As building ships requires years of planning, a hull is often ordered two years or more in advance: even before delivery of all finishing equipment (including the engines) and the trip is planned and before the finishing at a yard in countries of designation. As a result of COVID-19, the hulls may technically not be fully operational before the final date of July 1, 2021 (January 1, 2020 plus 18 months transition period).

Given the extraordinary situation, we insist on the European Commission to propose an additional Regulation to extend the transition period and the 18-month period by 12 months for engines of IWP and IWA sub-categories used in inland navigation vessels, for which the date set out in Annex III for the placing on the market of Stage V engines is 1 January 2020.

We thank you for your consideration.

Yours sincerely,

Esther DE LANGE Vice President of the EPP group in the European Parliament

Tom BERENDSEN, MEP (EPP)

Maria CARVALHO, MEP (EPP)

Jens GIESEKE, MEP (EPP)



Norbert LINS, MEP (EPP)

Marian-Jean MARINESCU, MEP (EPP)

Annie SCHREIJER-PIERIK, MEP (EPP)

Sven SCHULZE, MEP (EPP)

Tomislav SOKOL, MEP (EPP)

Mohammed CHAHIM, MEP (S&D)

Vera TAX, MEP (S&D)

Andreas GLÜCK, MEP (Renew Europe)

Caroline NAGTEGAAL, MEP (Renew Europe)

Jan-Christoph OETJEN, MEP (Renew Europe)

Gerolf ANNEMANS, MEP (ID)

Johan VAN OVERTVELDT, MEP (ECR)