Mr. Thierry Breton Commissioner for Internal Market Rue de la Loi 200 1040 Brussels Belgium

In Brussels, 08 May2020

Dear Commissioner,

based on numerous requests from European companies developing, producing and supplying technology and machines in automation, robotics, artificial intelligence, Industry 4.0 and others, I would like to inform you about their difficulties with providing their services cross-border.

These companies are providing services (machine repair, installation of new appliances) in factories within the EU. Given the closure of the borders, they are now not able to provide their services and it is very difficult for the factories to replace them by a local company due to a complexity of the installation of the new technology. They also cannot provide their services on distance.

Therefore, they are asking for an exception from travel ban. These companies would be willing to bear the costs for testing on Covid before and after the travel for their workers, comply with the safety measures and provide for the compulsory isolation after the return from the business trip.

The European Commission, as a guardian of the internal market, shall consider the coordination of opening of the EU borders in order to restore the functioning of the internal market

I'm asking this as an emergency measure in a time when our companies and SMEs more than ever depend on a steady flow of goods and services cross-border. I strongly believe that helping these companies to continue their business will not only help them economically, but would also contribute to speed up the recovery of our economy after this crisis.

Thank you for considering our request.

Sincerely,

Members of the European Parliament:

Ivan ŠTEFANEC, EPP Andreas SCHWAB, EPP Maria GRAPINI, S&D Sven SCHULZE, EPP Markus PIEPER, EPP Vladimír BILČÍK, EPP Dita CHARANZOVÁ, Renew Romana TOMC, EPP Eva MAYDELL, EPP Eugen JURZYCA, ECR Isabel BENJUMEA, EPP Salvatore DE MEO, EPP Jens GIESEKE, EPP Juozas OLEKAS, S&D Andżelika Anna MOŻDŻANOWSKA, ECR Maria de Graça CARVALHO, EPP Aldo PATRICIELLO, EPP Ondřej KOVAŘÍK, Renew Marek BELKA, S&D Jörgen WARBORN, EPP Alviina ALAMETSÄ, Greens/EFA Miriam LEXMANN, EPP Javier NART, Renew