ERA CONFERENCE **2012:** FOSTERING EFFICIENCY, EXCELLENCE AND GROWTH From the Public Consultation towards the Completion of ERA

30 January 2012, 9:00-18:00, Charlemagne building, Brussels

8:30	Registration
8:45 – 9:00	Welcome Coffee
9:00 - 9:45	Opening session (Room: Alcide de Gasperi)

Welcome by: Robert-Jan Smits, Director-General Research and Innovation, European Commission (chair)

- Keynote address by Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science
- Address by Danish Presidency, Higher Education and Research Minister Morten Østergaard
- Address by Claudie Haigneré, President Universcience, Paris
- Address by Torsten Wiesel, President Emeritus Rockefeller University, New York; Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, 1981

9:45 - 11:00	The ERA partnership : progress to date and next steps (Room: Alcide de
	Gasperi)

Chair: Robert-Jan Smits, Director-General Research and Innovation, European Commission Speakers:

- Volker Rieke, Federal Ministry of Education and Research, DG for European and International cooperation in Education and Research
- Keith O'Nions, Rector of Imperial College London
- Paul Boyle, Science Europe President
- Anna Sjöström Douagi, Director of Swedish Young Academy
- Luiza Bara, Director of Policy and Strategy, European Public Health Alliance (EPHA)
- Bjarne Kirsebom, vice-chair European Research Area Committee (ERAC)

Discussion

11:00-11:15 Coffee Break



Moderator: Achilleas Mitsos, chair of the Economists groups assessing the socio-economic impact of ERA

Panellists:

- Andrea Bonaccorsi, Professor of Economics and Management at the University of Pisa, National Agency for the Evaluation of Universities and Research Institutes (ANVUR) member of the board
- Mariana Mazzucato, Economist and RM Phillips Professor in Science and Technology Policy, University of Sussex (SPRU)
- Daria Tataj, member of EIT Executive Committee, Founder EMF Consultancy and Professor at Warsaw University of Technology Business School
- Jan van den Biesen, Vice President & Director Public R&D Programs at PHILIPS, representing BusinessEurope

Discussion

Parallel sessions

12:15-13:15 Cross-border operation ofresearch actors (Room: Alcide de Gasperi)Moderator:Hans Müller Pedersen, GPC Chair	12:15–13:15 Research Infrastructures (Room: Jean Durieux) Moderator: Beatrix Vierkorn-Rudolph, ESFRI chair
 Speakers: Octavi Quintana Trias, Director European Research Area, European Commission: outcome of the consultation / key messages Wolfgang Marquardt, chair of the German Council of Science and Humanities (The Wissenschaftsrat) Tatjana Volkova, former Rector BA School of Business and Finance, former President of Rector's Conference of Latvia 	 <u>Speakers</u>: Ruxandra Draghia-Akli, Director Health, European Commission : outcome of the consultation/ key messages Rolf-Dieter Heuer, Director General of CERN Gudmund Host, e-Infrastructures Reflection Group (e-IRG) chair
Discussion	Discussion

13:15-14:30 Lunch (hot and cold buffet)

14:30-15:45 Researchers – Why theEuropean Research Area? (Room: Alcide deGasperi)Moderator:Martin Hynes, CEO of ESF	14:30-15:45 Knowledge circulation : Knowledge Transfer (Room: Jean Durieux) Moderator: Georg Buchtela, Austrian
 Speakers: Stefaan Hermans, Head of Unit Skills, European Commission: outcome of the consultation / key messages Vanessa Diaz Zuccarini, University College London, Department for Mechanical Engineering Marisa Alonso Nunez, EURODOC EURAXESS Ambassadors : <i>Karin KASE (EE)</i> <i>Neven DUIC (HR)</i> 	 Research Institute for Chemistry and Technology <u>Speakers:</u> Kirsi Haavisto, deputy head of Unit Innovation policy, European Commission: outcome of the consultation / key messages Pat Frain, ProTon member of the board Helena Malmqvist, Head of external research collaborations, ABB Corporate Research Center Lena Tsipouri, University of Athens, member of Innovation for Growth group (I4G)
Discussion	Discussion

15:45-16:00 Coffee Break

16: 00 – 17: 00 International dimension of ERA : need to tackle jointly the societal challenges? (Room: Alcide de Gasperi)	16: 00 – 17: 00 Knowledge circulation : Open access (<i>Room: Jean Durieux</i>)
Moderator: Riitta Mustonen, Chair of SFIC	<u>Moderator:</u> Sijbolt Noorda, President of the Association of Universities in the Netherlands
 Sigi Gruber, Head Of Unit Relations with third countries, European Commission: outcome of the consultation / key messages Charles Mgone, Executive Director, European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) Sylvia Schwaag Serger, Executive Director International Strategy & Networks, Swedish Agency for Innovation Systems (VINNOVA) 	 Speakers: Gilles Laroche, Head of Unit Ethics and Gender, European Commission: outcome of the consultation / key messages Ilaria Capua, Director of Virology Department and of International Reference Laboratories, Istituto Zooprofilattico Sperimentale delle Venezie Alma Swan, Director Key Perspectives Ltd.
Discussion	Discussion

17:00 – 18:00 Concluding session (Room: Alcide de Gasperi)

Moderator: Anneli Pauli, Deputy Director General Research and Innovation, Innovation and ERA, European Commission

Speakers:

- Olli Rehn, Vice-President of the European Commission, Commissioner for Economic and monetary affairs and the Euro
- Anne Glover, EU Chief Scientific Adviser
- Maria Da Graça Carvalho, European Parliament, member of ITRE
- Craig Mundie, Microsoft Chief Research and Strategy Officer
- Costas Iacovou, Director of Planning at Planning Bureau, Cyprus

18:00 Networking cocktail